Political System in Pakistan

Pakistan is the second largest Muslim country in terms of population and its status as a declared nuclear power, being the only Muslim nation to have that status, plays a part in its international role. It is an active member of the United Nations and an important member of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC).

The politics in Pakistan takes place within the framework under which the country is established by the constitution. Pakistan is an Islamic and federal parliamentary republic with Islam being its state religion and is classified as a nation-state in South Asia.

The Prime Minister of Pakistan solely leads the executive government which is independent of the state parliament. A bicameral parliament that is composed of two chambers– the Senate (upper house) and the National Assembly (lower house). The Judicature branch forms with the composition of the Supreme Court as an apex court, alongside with the high courts and other inferior courts. The judiciary’s function is to interpret the constitution and federal laws and regulations. The President of Pakistan is a ceremonial figurehead who represents the unity of the nation-state; the presidency is a vital part of the Parliament.

Pakistan is subdivided into 4 provinces, 2 territories, and 1 capital territory. Each province has a Provincial Assembly, a directly elected legislature. Members are elected for five-year terms. Each Assembly elects a Chief Minister, who then selects the ministers of his or her cabinet.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top